2017 Waikato Secondary Schools Teams Event Results

WSS WinnersThis years Waikato Secondary Schools Teams Event saw both the defending girls and boys teams claiming back their trophies once again. The event took place at Hamilton Squash & Tennis Club again this year on the 27th & 29th of June with a total of 50 teams entered.  With 3 players in every team plus reserves, we were certainly pleased to attract over 150 entries this year providing a lot of great squash for spectators! 

Hamilton Girls High, first seeds won The Girls Teams Championship Title for 2017 yet again making their school and their club, Hamilton Squash and Tennis Club proud.  They were always positioned to win boasting The NZ Junior Worlds Representative, Anika Jackson, A2, as there number 1, Leah Hodges B1 and Hayley Carson B2 as an exceptionally strong number 3.  Waikato Diocesan School For Girls earnt their second placing in the 1st Division Round Robin which also included teams from Cambridge High School and Matamata College with all girls ranging from D to A Grade.

It was deja vu again this year as St Paul’s Collegiate took home the Boys Team Championship Trophy for the third year in a row after a repeat final against Hamilton Boys High School.  With a large contingent of keen squash players again this year and a top team consisting of three A grade players, it shows just how strong squash is at The St Pauls Collegiate. An exciting final started with St Pauls’ Sean Dykes (A2) being given a run for his money by Cole Robinson at C1 (HBHS).  Robinson put up a good fight in the start winning the first game but Dykes managed to take the next two winning 11/8 in the last game.  Hamilton Boys High, Angus MacDonald B1, then took to the court and claimed to be “pretty happy” about his first victory in two years over NZ Junior World representative, Lui Chileshe (St Pauls), which he won 2 -0. With the score card showing one game each it was up to Temwa Chileshe (St Pauls) to make it happen and he did just that beating Boys High B grade, Rory McKinnon 2 – 0.       

This year the 50 teams travelled from as far as Taumarunui, Te Kauwhata, Waihi and Matamata which certainly was a big effort!  Squash Waikato would like thank to all the teachers and parents who took the time to make this possible for their school representatives.  We would also like to thank Hamilton Squash and Tennis Club and Hamilton Old Boys for the use of their courts. 

We also had many volunteers and people who helped out to make the two days run smoothly. This included Lyrae Wood from the Squash Waikato Board who put in many hours to complete the draws, plus Nicki Blake, Nicki Carson and Kay Newman who helped on Tournament Control.

Finally a big thanks to all the teams who showed such great sportsmanship throughout the event.   It was noted how many of our secondary school players are quickly climbing up the grades and also noted the new girls who have come through into our sport which is great to see.  We would like to encourage more people to into this sport so spread the word to your friends everyone!  We look forward to seeing you all back again next year…hopefully with another team of players from your school!   

Girls Teams Results Boys Teams Results
Girls Division 1 Boys Division 1
Winners: Hamilton Girls High 1 Winners: St Paul’s Collegiate 1
Anika Jackson Lwamba Chileshe
Leah Hodges Temwa Chileshe
Hayley Carson Sean Dykes
Runners Up: Waikato Diocesan School For Girls 1 Runners Up: Hamilton Boys High 1
Caitlin Evison Angus MacDonald
Aleisha Coombes Rory McKinnon
Ashton McDonald Cole Robinson
Jenna Foot  
Special Plate: St Paul’s Collegiate 2
Sam Wilson
Jack Collins
Brendan Hunt
Plate: Hillcrest 1
Dion Morgan
Lachlan McRobie
Kyle Smith
Consolation Plate:     Matamata 1
Logan Webber
Josh Adamson
Matt Reynolds
Girls Division 2 Boys Division 2
Winners: Morrinsville College 1 Winners: St Pauls Collegiate 3
Natasha Allen Raymond Chen
Brooke Koppens Lauchlan Cowley
Tyla Koppens Pat Jirapanyayut
Runners Up: St Pauls Collegiate Runners Up: St Johns College 2
Jessica Todd Harry Eaton
Tyler Steer Liam Jamieson
Rachael McLannachan Harrison Pedersen
Thomas Roach
Special Plate: Matamata College 3
Andre Burnell
Tyler Scholefied
Brodie Cleaver
Plate: Morrinsville College 1
Sam Vercoe
Quinn Hart
Sam Morris
Alex Devenport
Consolation Plate:     Cambridge High School
Keaton macKenzie
Josh Stannard
Alex Butler
Girls Division 3 Boys Division 3
Winners: Te Kauwhata College Winners: St Paul’s Collegiate 5
Emma Keeley Rowan Windley
Megan Keely Luke Henderson
Imogen Whitaker Baillie Monk
Runners Up: Taumaranui High School Runners Up: Hillcrest High 2
Jema Jenson Lucas Wheadon
Kayla Neill Nicholas Maultsaid
Huia Rauhina Ethan Baker
3rd Place Waikato Diocesan School for Girls 3  
Olivia Collier Special Plate: St Paul’s Collegiate 9
Paige Kennedy George Wilson
Charlotte Collier Charles Downey
Caty Fincham Harrison Stace
Plate: St Paul’s Collegiate 4
Nicholas Beal
Zac Campbell
Ryan Tindell
Consolation Plate:     St Johns College 3
Matthew Roach
Ross Cockburn
Jacob Croft
Sebastian Manning
Boys Division 4
Winners: St Paul’s Collegiate 10
Charlie Jackson
Lincoln Winter
James O’Callaghan
Runners Up: St Pauls Collegiate 12
Giovanni Glendining
Chanin (Ben) Chungsuvanich
Sumer Singh
Boys Division 5
Winners: Taumarunui
Jayden Paterson
Wyatt Tuckosh
Harley Marsh
Runners Up: St Paul’s Collegiate 15
Jarrod Deane
Oliver Hickman
Cameron Truebridge

<< Back

Join our email list

What's Happening?


February 2020

          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Useful Links

Find us on Facebook

Our Supporters








Website by NZ Internet Services